Word Vomit – Episode 1

5 Apr

I’m Pat from nutritionator.com. I suck at blogging.

I need to write more often. It’s the only way I’m ever going to get better at it and reading as many blog posts, articles, journals, updates and tweets as I do these days, I need to up my game.

Of course I googled “how to be better writer”. I google everything. One of the suggestions was to just sit down and write whatever comes to mind. Deal.

Word vomit is a very fitting title for what this post is probably going to end up resulting as…

There is some drama going down in the paleo community.

And it needs to stop for things to move forward.

The Jack Kruses and Richard Nikoleys (intentionally lacking links since enough people find their way to these guys anyway) of the paleo world just need to be ignored because they are lost causes at this point. Every movement has its crazies and these are just two of them that have unfortunately had their names branded along side the paleo, whole-food, back to nature, mindfulness movement that has been helping so many people get healthy. Why some people have to go at it from such an ass backward direction I will never know but I think all that time and energy should be put to better use. I honestly am not smart enough to comment on what these guys are talking about most of the time but thankfully I have friends that are. But I do know that lying about massaging yourself with MRSA before surgery or calling women the C word are things that I’m doing my best to avoid on my journey through life and I think everyone else on the planet could benefit from avoiding those things also.

There’s just no reason for such outlandish claims and extreme behavior and we’ll have a much easier time selling people on whole food and proper exercise if we don’t approach it so radically. Yeah it’s cool to be popular, and maybe that’s what the Paleo Jersey Shore folks are going for. Do and say whatever it takes to get more fans, more devotees, more $$$? It’s sure starting to look that way with how some people behave.

I do my best to avoid needless drama and I think I might be fighting a losing battle. Is this just human nature? People eat drama up, they love it. Teen Mom and any other show on MTV feed this craving and all these shows are about is people that have messed up their lives. And millions of people watch for ENJOYMENT! There’s something seriously wrong with the human condition if that many people enjoy watching men degrade women and women degrade each other i.e. Jersey Shore and any Real Housewives show.

Drama sells and I think some people are just smart and soul-less enough to make a profit off it. I guarantee Nikoley’s most recent post is one of, if not the most popular post he’s ever done and it’s because of the religious talk, name calling, accusations and flippant use of curse words in the comments section.

That post is Jerry Springer. Somewhat staged starring a bunch of trash people while a few Jerry’s try to talk people into slowing down and actually think about this stuff before they come out swinging. Too few Jerry’s and too much trash make for an entertaining show but it’s not going to make anyone any smarter for watching. Time to turn the channel back to that documentary you were watching or better yet, get off the couch and go outside. The drama doesn’t stop if you stop watching, it just has one less person feeding into the viewership, and this is a very good thing.

Remember what you do to really get on someone’s nerves or show someone they’re being ridiculous? You ignore them, and that’s what we need to do here. Ignore the crazies. Take them off your blogrolls, friends lists, twitter feeds, email lists and contacts and just ignore them. That’s all we can do.

It’s scary. SO much time and energy is wasted by and on people that are just out to make a buck or see their name in headlines and will do whatever it takes to do so. WHY can’t we focus this energy on ACTUALLY helping people instead of knocking what the general public thinks of a whole food, ancestral lifestyle back down a step or two so often?

I guess I’m just asking people to really evaluate what people are saying. Mark SissonRobb WolfChris KesserPaul Jaminet and so many other super knowledgable people have free resources available and don’t curse at women or require 6 hour ice baths. Read and promote these people, not the drama generators.

This is just my plea to decrease the crazy. We already have to deal with governments run by grains, doctors funded by pharmaceuticals and unimaginable things like raw, pastured dairy being illegal. Let’s put our energy into remedying those problems, not the he said, she said BS that keeps popping up the paleosphere.

I’m going to do my best to avoid, ignore and disprove the crazies and I think you should too.

Now, someone that actually knows how to write needs to put something up so this isn’t HBP’s featured post for too long…

31 Responses to “Word Vomit – Episode 1”

  1. Meredith April 5, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

    All the tumult is temporary I bet because there are way too many quality people at the top of this Paleo gig. I like to label myself as a really strong follower. Every great movement needs really great followers IMO. The more we fans of ancestral health fiddle our dials a bit to tune out the noise, the clearer we’ll hear the great and positive messages being put out by great and positive people. For me, that means weeding though my blog reader and, quite honestly, to stop my very human tendency to gossip a bit. On with the POSITIVE!

    Speaking of positive, we’ve got another HBP Cook Off next month! Hopefully we’ll have our act together enough to welcome submissions from the public too! Light! Fun! Yay!

  2. Beth@WeightMaven April 5, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

    Plus one for the Paleo Jersey Shore analogy ;).

    • Jules April 5, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

      Yes I loved that! 🙂

  3. nance13 April 5, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

    Thanks for a great post! Speaking selfishly for a moment, the last thing I need in this bizarre, stressful world is 2-out-of-3 paleo blogs hating on other blogs. I need positive reinforcement for my determination to “swim up stream” and live/eat healthy. I need the latest research updates, and laughter, and insights into how other people are translating the latest knowledge into food budgets like mine (hint: Social Security.) Etc., etc.

    I am adding YOU to my blogroll.

  4. Amanda April 5, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    thank you, pat. welcome to your highbrow debut! let kill them with our love and awesomeness and egg recipes. take that, crude and anti intellectual paleo elitist! eat my sweet potato!

    • lizve April 5, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

      HA! “Eat my sweet potato”

    • Nutritionator April 5, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

      Thanks Amanda, it’s hard to stay positive sometimes but I think we’re doing a good job here 😉

  5. lizve April 5, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

    Well said, Pat!

    “Read and promote these people, not the drama generators.” YES YES YES

  6. Russ Crandall (thedomesticman.com) April 5, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

    Yes. Go outside. Perfect! The crazies aren’t out there. Well, they are, but you can literally walk away.

    • Travis April 5, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

      I prefer to sprint, thanks to Mark Sisson. 🙂

  7. Travis April 5, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    Pat, for a guy who claims he can’t write, I would say you nailed it. Tuning out the noise, focusing on the positive, and getting outside are much better than flailing about in a quagmire.

    • Nutritionator April 5, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

      I appreciate the kind words Travis, practice makes perfect (or at least closer to it.)

  8. mem April 5, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

    What in hells bells do you mean that you “need practice?”
    I am both moved and impressed by you post.
    But yes, you are right! You DO need to write on your blog.
    There’s good stuff in that head and heart of yours.
    Thank you, Pat for taking the time and putting the effort in to write this.
    Moved. Yeah. I am moved.
    And you are right on target.
    BINGO!

  9. Mama Pongkey April 5, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    Your entry caused me to no longer be embarrassed to call myself Paleo/Primal. Thanks for taking the time to write this.

    • Nutritionator April 5, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

      That’s quite a compliment, thanks for taking the time to read it 😉

  10. principleintopractice April 6, 2012 at 7:07 am #

    If this is word vomit, it’s the nicest word vomit I’d ever imagine… I’d tend to think that the stuff you were criticizing is word vomit, but then maybe vomit is too nice a term…

    Seriously-excellent post. You are spot on that this movement needs to focus on the people that are doing this right, not the people that are doing this wrong. There’s a reason Mark Sisson and Robb Wolf have been in this game so long and have helped so many people. Speaking of Robb, I found his post that came out the day after the FTA post to really hit a chord… http://robbwolf.com/2012/04/04/paleo-diet-convince-it/

    • Nutritionator April 6, 2012 at 9:23 am #

      I really, really appreciate that. Especially from someone that’s writes as insanely good as you do. I’ve been cruising around your blog and your posts are incredible. I am also a huge fan of that Robb Wolf post. Looking forward to learning a lot from you!

  11. hughanderson April 6, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    Arguing your points with force, as Richard does, often causes people to come out and say precisely what they believe. Playing nice oftentimes doesn’t work because people think to themselves, “Well, he’s a nice guy so I’m not going to disagree with him publicly, even though I disagree in private.”

    What did Richard’s post accomplish? In the grand scheme of things, exactly nothing. The universe on the whole did not notice. And even the so-called paleo movement will continue unabated; frankly I doubt any one blogger could possibly derail paleo.

    But on the micro micro scale of the paleo blogoverse, it did drag out the whole Dr. Kruse controversy into the light of day for all to see. Conversations that had been happening behind closed doors are now available for anyone considering or researching Kruse’s protocols. I had no idea about the MRSA thing, as Dr. Kruse was added to my personal ignore list months ago, but now I’m glad to know. It will give context to anything I happen to hear Dr. Kruse or one of his followers say. On the flip side, conversations about cold therapy interested me and have been added to my radar although I remain skeptical. So I certainly took a few things away from post.

    Could this have occurred with less drama and more substance? Ideally, yes. In the real world, probably not.

    In any case, Richard is very purposeful in driving people away from his site who don’t belong there. This is Blogging 101. People who don’t belong dilute the conversation and add nothing, so it is best for everyone that they go away. If his site bothers you, absolutely by all means ignore it, he’s not for you, and you aren’t for him. Nothing wrong with that, but there’s no reason to call him crazy or try to cook up an argument that he’s bad for the so-called paleo movement.

    That’s my dissenting opinion – you needed at least one. For balance.

    • Nutritionator April 6, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

      I agree with a lot of your points and absolutely appreciate the response. I don’t necessarily agree with with “people not belonging adding nothing to the conversation” because a lot of the people commenting on his recent post “do not belong” on Richard’s site and had the best points to make. I know it’s wishful thinking but I think more attention needs to be focused on paleo proponents that don’t cuss at women or make such wild claims about health. I guess I’m just more sensitive than some people and have more hope in humanity than most people do.

      I do appreciate the balance, if everyone agreed with me all the time, I’d learn much less than I do when I’m critiqued. Thanks again.

      • hughanderson April 7, 2012 at 9:36 am #

        I’m going to belabor a couple points at the risk of sounding like a jerk. I can’t but help notice that you’ve taken particular exception to Richard’s argument with one female commenter. His choice of words, especially, triggered negative emotional reactions for people who attach special significance to those words, and I get that. There’s no helping that people have trigger words, and all I can say to that is that if we avoided the use of everybody’s trigger words English dictionaries would be much lighter.

        Putting that aside, I cannot agree with the statement that a man cussing at a woman has any more significance than a man cussing at other men. It is subtly condescending to women to say that they cannot handle being cussed at. It implies that they are delicate flowers or somehow in need of protection from the words of men. I know people say mournfully, “Chivalry is dead,” but perhaps this is cause for celebration. Chivalry was born in an era when women were treated as glorified children; it was untoward of a man to cuss at a woman for the same reason it was untoward to cuss at a child. For better and for worse, those days are done as we ever so slowly elevate women to equal status among men.

        I would also point out that this particular commenter was dishing it out to Richard. The time when men didn’t cuss at women was also a time when women didn’t publicly berate men. Not to mention women were excused from the room when men had heated discussions about Important Things.

        So yes, I just made the argument that Richard is the ultimate feminist by cussing at a woman. Rather than put on his kid gloves, he went straight for the jugular, which in a way shows respect for his opponent. Pulling punches is a sign of disrespect and we can all agree no punches were pulled.

        All that said, if you were to say, “I don’t like blogs where people cuss at each other,” I really wouldn’t have much to argue with you about.

  12. Nutritionator April 7, 2012 at 10:54 am #

    Hugh, it’s becoming clear that you’re one of the people that just like to get people fired up for no reason. I don’t need a history lesson to know that men and women should just respect each other and not worry about disrespecting each other equally. I know I can probably expect another response but there won’t be a reply because even calmly talking about this stuff is pointless. Like I mentioned in the original post, people need to put their time and energy towards more productive things, not trolling on the internet.

    • carnivorouscarly April 7, 2012 at 11:22 am #

      Trolololololololol 😉 Richard, a feminist. Hilarious. Great post Pat. Keep ’em coming. ❤ the positivity. 🙂 🙂

      • Beth@WeightMaven April 8, 2012 at 9:33 am #

        Richard, a feminist? Hilarious is right! Richard is paleo’s Andrew Dice Clay.

    • hughanderson April 9, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

      It appears I did come across as a jerk, but my intent was not to troll or get anybody fired up. In my head, my stylistic tone comes across as measured and mild, not inflammatory and hyberbolic. And I thought the discussion was potentially constructive, in fact I was looking forward to a thoughtful retort to see if there was an error in my logic.

      • zimage April 12, 2012 at 12:02 am #

        I just wanted to pipe in and say to Hugh that I thought your post read very level-headedly.

  13. Stacy April 8, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

    Thanks for this post! I deleted Nikoley and Kruse from my blog list months ago and don’t miss either of them. So many great bloggers out there and not enough time in the day to waste it on lousy, rude writers. Ignore them!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Follow Friday « Nutritionator - April 13, 2012

    […] feel like I’m starting to put out some quality posts and received really great reviews on my first guest post for Highbrow Paleo, a blog created by a very special group of paleo proponents. I know that some […]

  2. an absolute advantage: the intelligence of experience « JRFibonacci's blog: partnering with reality - April 20, 2012

    […] Word Vomit – Episode 1 (highbrowpaleo.com) […]

Leave a Reply

