Are You Well Fed?

25 Jan

This post can also be seen at Julia’s blog- Queen of the Stoneage.

I was so excited to learn last year that Melissa Joulwan was coming out with a cookbook. Melissa writes the very popular blog The Clothes Make The Girl, which is my go-to resource for fun Whole30 meals, delicious homemade sauces, and paleo-friendly ethnic recipes. After checking out the handy-dandy free sample though, I saw that this book is so much more!

If you’re a paleo-eater, you may find yourself spending a pretty ridiculous amount of time in the kitchen. I don’t have children or a spouse to cook for, yet I often find myself coming home from the gym, and spending upwards of two hours preparing my dinner for that evening, plus my lunch and breakfast for the next day. I love to cook, and I know this is an investment in my health, but it’s still a bit much! Well, I am happy to say this is now a thing of the past, thanks to Melissa’s tips. Well Fed outlines how to run your kitchen like a restaurant, so you’re never more than a few minutes away from a good meal. Melissa recommends taking a couple of hours each week to cook up a few pounds of meat and partially cook a bunch of veggies (this is the “Weekly Cookup”); these items can be infinitely combined into “Hot Plates” with seasonings and sauces to keep your belly happy over the week. It makes so much sense, I was kicking myself for not thinking of it before! I did my first cookup this past Sunday; my self-diagnosed ADD was raging, but I got it done (and unfortunately burned up a batch of bacon) and it was SO worth the effort. When I got home from work on Monday, I had my dinner on the table within five minutes, ate it, and then had my Tuesday lunch and breakfast packed away fifteen minutes later. Shazaam!

Cookup #1 (with the Beggarcat)

 
Yes, the cookbook has fantastic recipes too!  Melissa’s Paleo Pad Thai is a favorite of mine, and I am looking forward to cooking my way through the whole book.  My (non-paleo) sis looked through the book and declared that every single recipe looked like something she would like- not too shabby!  If you only buy one cookbook this year, Well Fed is well worth it.
 

Ask nicely and your copy can by signed by the Melicious herself!

2 Responses to “Are You Well Fed?”

  1. Melissa "Melicious" Joulwan January 26, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    WOOT! Thank you so much for the kind words. Hope you continue to have lots of fun in the kitchen with Well Fed!

    • Jules January 26, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

      Thank you! 🙂 Many fun times to come- the book just may help me “convert” my sis.

Leave a Reply

