Bacon & Onions, with Liver

27 Dec

This post can also be seen at Queen of the Stoneage and Chowstalker!

I worked through some childhood trauma last week; I’ve had a grassfed beef liver in my freezer for… a year or so. Haunted by memories of “that nasty liver smell,” it took awhile to get the nerve to cook the damn thing, but I finally did it. I want to love liver, really I do, but I think I’ll have to settle for tolerating it; I pulled every trick out of my sleeve that I could, but I still can’t say this was an enjoyable experience. Some of you actually enjoy liver though, so I will share my method. Meh…

Liver

1/2 a liver (mine was a little under 1.5lbs., and I knew I wouldn’t eat it all, so I just made half. I’m no scientist, but I’m not down with eating the filtering organs of sick animals; get a good grassfed one, it should still be pretty inexpensive)

1/2 lb bacon, cooked and crumbled, grease reserved

1 large onion

a few TBS of clarified butter

2 TBS arrowroot

 

Cauliflower Puree

1 head cauliflower, chopped into large chunks

1/3 cup broth

a few TBS heavy cream (optional)

a few TBS butter

Salt, pepper, & herbs to taste (I used herbes de provence)

A few hours before cooking time, slice liver into 1/2″ slices, and soak in milk or lemon juice; they say this will diminish some of the liver flavor. Slice onion and cook in clarified butter on medium-low heat for about half an hour until the onions get a bit caramelized; add bacon and set aside.

At this point, heat broth in a saucepan over medium high heat, and add cauliflower; steam for about 6 or 7 minutes until you can easily poke with a fork. Once it is tender, add butter, cream and seasonings, and puree (great job for a stick blender if you have one.) While cauliflower is cooking, add bacon to the pan that the onions were cooking in, and heat up to medium-high. Dry off liver slices, and place in a baggie with arrowroot, toss to coat. Once pan is hot, add slices of liver, and cook for about a minute on each side; it will be brown on the outside, and pretty rare on the inside.

I was amazed that there was NO SMELL! My mom is a great cook, but we have some, uhh, different ideas about how long to cook things; if you don’t cook the hell out of the thing, you may be spare your loved ones from the liver-stank. Serve with plenty of bacon & onions, and choke it down!

Mmm bacon! Eww liver! So conflicted...

3 Responses to “Bacon & Onions, with Liver”

  1. Colin Lime December 27, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    If you add a few TBs of Balsamic vinegar and let it reduce over everything at the very end of cooking, it makes a delicious buttery/sweet/tangy sauce that hides the Liver-ness of the liver VERY well. I always have it that way. Now you only have to contend with the texture.

    • Jules December 27, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

      Cool I will have to try that! I did have some cold leftover liver the next day with some mustard- that seemed like an improvement.

  2. Liver Cirrhosis Treatment March 13, 2012 at 8:08 am #

    This is Really a very informative post..Very Good Liver Treatment Therapy.I also love ayurveda.I will come back for more.Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

