Real Life Paleo

15 Nov

My name is Bree, I spend my days as an environmental scientist and my evenings as a wife and mom.  This is Paleo in my slanted version of reality a.k.a my real life.  Oh and by the way – this is not a ‘success’ story.  This is a work in progress.

About a year ago I knew that I needed a change.  My fiancé (now hubby) needed a change.  And I wanted the absolute best for our son.  So out came my research hat and away I went searching for a plan.  I had been a crossfitter prior to getting pregnant (and for a small stint post-pregnancy that resulted in a broken limb) but back in those days crossfit was more aligned with a Zone approach to nutrition and hadn’t quite jumped on the paleo bandwagon; but there were rumblings, and that is how I was first introduced.  The more I read, the more the paleo/primal slant on nutrition made sense.  And of course it made sense; the first reading I did was Mark Sisson. He is an excellent communicator, his books are the go-to for starting off and his cookbook is a gem in my house – even today.

The first six months went great. I was pumping out mouth-watering meals every evening that included plenty for lunch the next day and breakfasts were filled with awesome local range bacon, local sausages and eggs any way you like.  Hubby lost a big chunk of weight (around 40 lbs) and our toddler was thriving.  I felt better, but no weight came off.

The next six months became a little harder.  I got busier at work, I was planning my wedding and add to that the normal business of being a mom.  Stress levels went up quite a bit and I actually started putting on more weight.  Total BUMMER!  So right now I am in an interesting point in my paleo journey.  It almost feels like I am starting over.  I’m in the process of researching some more, ramping up and filling up our larder so that I can knuckle down and stay very true to the diet (ie NO CHEATS, no BAD FOOD) for at least 3 months.  I haven’t yet decided what plan to implement and I am open to suggestions.  It’s going to be hard and I’m going to need some help with accountability.  Will you help to keep me an honest eater??

2 Responses to “Real Life Paleo”

  1. Meredith November 16, 2011 at 1:34 am #

    I love this. Paleo is not convenient in terms of living a busy, demanding modern life. It is a struggle – especially with kids! I can’t wait to hear more about your journey. ❤

  2. Eve March 27, 2015 at 11:29 pm #

    You can certainly see your expertise in the article you write.
    The sector hopes for more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid
    to mention how they believe. At all times go after your heart.

Leave a Reply

